Skip to content

Reviewing Sasti Masti or Sasti Masti for Dummies

October 22, 2010

in a few days, i’ll be posting another piece on sasti masti and its reaction.

but first, check out the greatest review i’ve read about anything i’ve ever done. its got some of the most apt yet entertaining captions you’ll find on the interwebs.

so if you didn’t ‘get’ sasti masti, read this.

http://www.shahid-saeed.com/2010/10/sasti-masti-pathetic-attempt-at-a-review/

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 11:32

    Shahid bhai does a good job, and I have to admit, that large piece he’s written is a bit of a large pull in for his newly created blog. However the real reason I’m writing to you KK, is kause I saw what you got into Dawn’s blog pages, and my first reaction is “da-yumn” good job on getting back into the mainstream. My second reaction was, here’s a copy of the response I wrote, because for the last five months, Dawn blog’s moderation system has been waging a jihad on responses of mine that link to my blog and not showing them. So if you will excuse the mid-essay analytical shut down, digression into cheerleading and abuse and the ending rhetorical return, please allow my dear widdle response to grace your curently active blog:

    A Response to Smokers Cornered

    You know what Ahmer, good job! I like NFP, but your analysis has an original point to riposte NFP with, that this generation has observed an explosion of individuality. I express my individuality by never agreeing with Imran Khan, but besides that point, it certainly is something that NFP may have written off as egotism, but may not necessarily be wrong for a generation that’s plugged into the web. That indiviuality was appealed to by the Barack Obama campaign and it led him to political victory…..ah screw it I’m trying to write a “political” response to your analysis, and the only real response I have is WOOHOO! You got published on the mainstream! Good job Ahmer! And as a riposte to the unanswered NFP. The piece itself is a reply from a generation to anybody who heaps abuse on it; screw you, you’re on the internet. Get a blog, practise to write, read that XKCD comic more carefully, and then get your own piece published on the Dawn’s Op-Blog page. After that I’ll take your snarky why-aren’t-you-on-the-street-with-a-manisfesto line more seriously.

    In the last two decades tell me who else has inspired a movement based on a manifesto and physical action besides Osama Bin Ladin? And even that movement had a lot of help from Muslim and US governments to get off its feet to go against that other “street based” movement the communist world. And the religious movement is still here, with it’s individualist message of ‘”You” (individual) will go to heaven”.

    Even Mr NFP, who I really, really like, got his start of by being an INDIVIDUAL ON THE INTERNET. Can any of you who have already posted tell me the story of how MR NFP got his reboot in the 20th Century? I’m an old fan of his, and the methods Ahmer espouses, the electronic tactics of his and my generation, are what Mr Nadeem Farooq Paracha used to revive his career and return to his politics.

    Aren’t we all better of for it?

    • October 22, 2010 12:35

      ok so i just posted your response on the dawn blog. hope it works this time.

      i have to say, you are my most favorite commenter ever. mainly because the editors at dawn had asked me to tone down the anti-NFPness, and then his acolytes at the comment boards were ripping into me with pedantic debates of class and bullshit like that. so thank you so much for having my back, and GETTING IT.

      and in shahid’s defence, i coerced him into writing that review. so its not as shameless a plug as we might believe.

      🙂

    • Shahid permalink
      October 22, 2010 16:18

      My dear warrior: I had promised KK a review when he released the short film. I was procrastinating on it. I wasn’t trying a pull. I don’t think you meant to be meany 🙂

  2. October 22, 2010 13:45

    Thanks for trying to get the response posted. They blew away the big one, but kept the pedantic/academic sounding one so I’ll try that angle to write more stuff in. Like I said the Dawn blog people have been vapourising my comments (which link to my blog) for months now.

    As for the respondents on your post, yaar the post it self started out with a bang, but I think the end of it got weak and that’s where the 7 dialectical materialists pounced on you ;-).

    Observe bro, there were only about 10-15 of them, they had the bad English of lifetime political hacks (although I argue on their side online), and at the same time you had trouble from the people at Dawn who wanted you to tone down your tone against NFP. 😦 Sad cowardice at Dawn, sad to see psychophancy and less bravery, and sad for us that bravery on something not relating to Islam or nationalism is so rare.

    Wanna reconsider that offer for a virtual political party?

  3. October 22, 2010 13:57

    Shit, I’m tired, what I meant was:

    Sad to see cowardice at Dawn, and even sadder to see psychophancy from people who admire an individualist like Nadeem Paracha. A little bravery and independent thought would have been appreciated.

    The part you mentioned about looking in ourselves was, I think, for the most part ignored.

    Anyway, I remember you tweeting once about how kids nowadays are more tuned to the politics of individualism and NFP doesn`t see that. You could`ve expanded on that some more. Have you read Neil Postman`s “Amusing Ourselves to Death”? I don’t have the energy right now to go into media theory, or the psycho-social impact of TV vs the internet, but being utilitarian here, you could’ve ended your essay by connecting this individualism to a new form of technologically based political mobilisation, linked with real social activism; and those on the periphery who aren’t plugged into the internet but are radically active.

    I have a feeling the Baloch nationalists, from observing them on the internet, are active in this way.

    • October 22, 2010 17:15

      in their defence, the dawn editors didn’t cut that much. i myself refrained from going over the top in case it was interpreted as a cheap way of garnering attention, and deflecting from the substance. it happened anyways.

      that said i am with gladwell on the fact that as of now, the internet is not the place for political change.

      but politics in itself is overhyped. its an extension of our personalities, rather than the other way around. any number of years hifz-o-fying Das Kapital won’t matter a smidgen if you are a dick to your subordinates. people need to change themselves before they change the world.

      unfortunately, the dialectical materialists and their ilk get it wrong. in that sense, the religious gang has one part of the equation right – it has to begin with you becoming a better person yourself. the fact that their political demands continue to call for death and destruction speaks more of their own unresolved personal issues.

  4. October 29, 2010 02:20

    A tribune blog calls for Lollywood’s death. Or euthanasia.

Leave a Reply

